Jason Mercier, Ari Engel Among American Poker Awards Winners

The third annual Global Poker Index American Poker Awards, presented by PokerStars and honoring the best and brightest in the industry, are on the books. Ari Engel, Maurice Hawkins and PokerStars Team Pro Jason Mercier were some of the people walking out of the ceremony with freshly won hardware.

Engel claimed Tournament Performance of the Year for his win in the Aussie Millions Main Event, the biggest score by a mile in a long and consistently strong career. Hawkins won Breakout Performance of the Year after banking a career-best $581,000 and crushing the World Series of Poker Circuit for four rings, including three Main Events, in 2016.

Mercier got Moment of the Year for his epic WSOP performance, winning two bracelets, taking one runner-up score and finishing eighth in a series of four $10K events inside of 10 days. $279,722

PocketFives’Lance Bradley was the only other person besides Hawkins and Engel to be nominated in two categories; each was a candidate for the award the other won. Like the players, he went one-for-two, taking home Media Content of the Year for “Bob, Charlie and a Life-Changing WSOP Main Event Journey.”

Special awards were also presented to online legend and 2016 November Niner Cliff “JohnnyBax” Josephy (PocketFives Legacy Award), John Holley (Hendon Mob Award), Mori Eskandani (Lifetime Achievement Award) and Matt Savage (Jury Prize).

PokerNews had two nominees — Sarah Herring for Media Person of the Year and The PokerNews Podcast for Podcast of the Year — but both came up short.

Winners were selected by a jury of industry experts out of groups of four finalists in most categories. Here’s a full look at the list of winners, along with their fellow finalists.

Award Winner Other Finalists
American GPI Player of the Year David Peters
American GPI Female Player of the Year Cate Hall
Media Person of the Year Joe Stapleton Lance Bradley
Sarah Herring
David Tuchman
Industry Person of the Year Sean McCormack Tony Burns
Jack Effel
Matt Savage
Breakout Performance of the Year Maurice Hawkins Ari Engel
Ankush Mandavia
Sam Soverel
Tournament Performance of the Year Ari Engel Maurice Hawkins
Kristen Bicknell
Mike Sexton
Mid-Major Circuit of the Year WSOP Circuit Mid-States Poker Tour
Heartland Poker Tour
Event of the Year Super High Roller Bowl Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open
WSOP Main Event
WPT Five Diamond
Charitable Initiative of the Year Dan Smith Charity Drive
Lifetime Achievement Award Mori Eskandani
Moment of the Year Jason Mercier at the WSOP Griffin Benger vs. Will Kassouf
David Peters Wins GPI POY in last major of year
Mike Sexton mounts comeback to win WPT Montreal
Media Content of the Year Bob, Charlie and a Life-Changing WSOP Main Event Journey Life’s a Gamble (Mike Sexton)
Stu Ungar’s Last Chance Gone Wrong (Matt Showell)
Jason Somerville Aussie Millions coverage
Twitch Streamer of the Year Jason Somerville Kevin Martin
Parker Talbot
Jaime Staples
Podcast of the Year Poker Life Podcast (Joe Ingram) Full Contact Poker (Daniel Negreanu)
PokerNews Podcast
TwoPlusTwo Pokercast
PocketFives Legacy Award Cliff Josephy
Hendon Mob Award John Holley
Jury Prize Matt Savage

Be sure to complete your PokerNews experience by checking out an overview of our mobile and tablet apps here. Stay on top of the poker world from your phone with our mobile iOS and Android app, or fire up our iPad app on your tablet. You can also update your own chip counts from poker tournaments around the world with MyStack on both Android and iOS.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)