Samuli Sipila beats Yevgeniy Timoshenko to win Aussie Millions Event # 19 (AUD$73,710)

Crown - Long Exposure

At any given poker festival, you have the small events aimed to please the mixed games players and lower buy-in loving echelon of players. But you also have the big buy-in side events, making for an action-packed schedule for everyone traveling to a city to play a week or so of poker.

Event number 19 on the 2017 Aussie Millions schedule was one in the latter category. The variant; Pot Limit Omaha – a game getting more popular by the day, certainly in this part of the world. The buy-in; $2,500 – a hefty some for anyone.

While Timoshenko had the advantage in the experience category, Sipila had the advantage in terms of chips to play with.

A total of 126 players entered, making for a prize pool of AUD$283,500 to be divided among the top 15 players. The field was filled with recognizable faces, some of the best came out to play this event. Maybe the most recognizable face was that of Phil Laak – or maybe not as he has it hidden in his hoody most of the time. Laak made it to the final table, busting out in 9th place for AUD$8,505. While Laak’s poker resume dates back to 2002, this is first ever recorded cash on Australian soil.

While many locals entered the event, the heads-up battle would be between two players from the other side of the world. Ukrainian player Yevgeniy Timoshenko, WPT, APT, Irish Open and Aussie Millions $100,000 Challenge winner, faced Samuli Sipila from Finland heads up.

While Timoshenko had the advantage in the experience category, Sipila had the advantage in terms of chips to play with. Sipila, coming fresh off a win in the 2017 Helsinki Freezeout for €37,240 (AUD$52,735), Sipila started with a big lead during heads up play and never surrendered it. Timoshenko had to settle for second place, worth AUD$49,620, while Sipila collected the first-place prize of AUD$73,710 and posed for the winner photo.

Place Player Country Prize
1 Samuli Sipila Finland AUD$73,710
2 Yevgeniy Timoshenko Ukraine AUD$49,620
3 Michael Seymour Australia AUD$32,600
4 Michael Tran Australia AUD$25,515
5 Nikolaos Solomos Australia AUD$19,845
6 Mikael Koistinen Finland AUD$17,010
7 Max Schabram Thailand AUD$14,175
8 Mark Radoja Canada AUD$11340
9 Phil Laak United States AUD$8,505
10 Adam Monaghan Australia AUD$7,090

Be sure to complete your PokerNews experience by checking out an overview of our mobile and tablet apps here. Stay on top of the poker world from your phone with our mobile iOS and Android app, or fire up our iPad app on your tablet. You can also update your own chip counts from poker tournaments around the world with MyStack on both Android and iOS.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)